All Hail iPhone….

Those of you that know me are aware of my love of CocktailDB. Well, my love has just grown exponentially now that I have the Cocktail App for the iPhone.

Created by the same wizards at CocktailDB (everyone, say hi to Martin Doudoroff) the Cocktail App is like the website, but on steroids. Not only does the App have all the recipes from the original website, they’ve also added recipes from Harry Johnson’s Bartender Manual, Gary Regan’s The Joy of Mixology, Ted Haigh’s Vintage Spirits and Forgotten Cocktails, The Savoy and more. Extra recipe modules will also be added in the future.

One can easily navigate the over 1500 recipes alphabetically, by base, type, flavor, ingredient or the Search bar. It gives you variations of recipes, each one color-coded depending upon how old the source is (the older the recipe source, the older the background “parchment”, and yes, that means that he has included his source for the recipe). You are able to choose your favorite recipes as well, by touching a star that will be placed in the background of the ingredient list, and you are able to search just through your favorites if you so desire. Apparently you can even share recipes with friends through email or twitter, and change the units of measurement from imperial to metric.

And the best part for me? I no longer have to wait for CocktailDB to load via the web as the App is downloaded onto my iPhone.

UPDATE: I was just informed that the iPhone App’s recipes are completely different than those on the web site. Looks like I’ll have to put that shortcut back on my phone!

Glory, glory, glory days!!

~ by Jamie Boudreau on July 12, 2008.

11 Responses to “All Hail iPhone….”

  1. It was also made by my friend Ian Baird, a really nice guy and something of a whisky fanatic.

  2. [...] July 13, 2008 · No Comments This could be the best thing ever – as far as portable cocktail databases go, anyway. [Via SpiritsAndCocktails.com] [...]

  3. Could you also get it on an iPod touch? or must one have an actual iPhone?

  4. evil:
    the iPod is a go…..
    It’s actually what I saw it on when it was first being developed.

  5. it’s the only App I’ve bought so far… totally worth the money (and just in time for Tales, hooray!)

    I wish you could add your own favorite recipes, but now I am just being picky.

  6. Heyja, do you know twitter.com?

  7. I`m hooked, i want one!

  8. there is something similar on new iPhone?

  9. Dejan:
    No. There is something exactly the same on new iPhone.

  10. Thanks for blogging about this Jamie! It’s the only app I’ve bought for my iPhone so far and very much worth the money. The only thing lacking is perhaps photos of the built drink. Awesome app. I know at least five people in town who would kill for this, and would probably buy an iPhone or Touch just to have it.

  11. I’ve been searching for this but am a bit overwhelmed with the other low quality looking apps that come up when I search for “cocktail”. Any help?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

