Kentucky & MxMo:Bourbon

As this month’s MxMo is bourbon themed, I’ve decided to combine my Kentucky trip with MxMo. You can see all of this Month’s MxMo at Scofflaw’s Den.

Here we go:

New York behind me, I was now on my way to learn about bourbon from its birthplace: Kentucky. Although I’d traveled across Canada (from coast to coast and all the ugly bits in between) and have been up and down the coasts of the States, I had never had a chance to get to the juicy middle parts: until now.

Stepping off of the plane in Louisville, I immediately went to the car rental area in order to acquire a car to get me to the hotel, and then the next day, to the distilleries. Imagine my surprise, when, after approaching five separate car rental agencies in the airport, I find that not one of them had a vehicle for rent. And this in a nearly deserted airport?!?! Luckily there was a cab (and I do mean a, as in one, cab). Hopping in, I quickly approached the city, which I was startled to discover was not only tiny, but also deserted. Along the highway we passed maybe a dozen cars, and in the city I did not see a single one. Did I mention that this was at 9:00pm on a Thursday? And I thought that Seattle was sleepy at night!

EDITED:

I’m afraid that the bulk of this post has been taken down because it will be featured (albeit differently) in an upcoming issue of Imbibe. I will re-post in a different light in the future, but for all of you people that arrived here via a Mixology Monday link, I will leave you the cocktail that accompanied the original post.

I apologize for the inconvenience.

Well, that’s it, my complete tour of Kentucky. As by now I’m sure you’ve gotten thirsty again (this is by far the longest post that I’ve written), why don’t you mix yourself a Seelbach Cocktail. If you’ve gotten this far, you deserve it!

SEELBACH COCKTAIL

1 oz bourbon
½ oz Cointreau
7 dashes Angostura bitters
7 dashes Peychaud’s bitters
stir all briefly over ice
strain into a Champagne glass
top with Champagne
garnish with a lemon twist

Maker's Mark

Pictures by:
Jamie Boudreau
Cocktail Whisperer

.

~ by Jamie Boudreau on June 15, 2008.

7 Responses to “Kentucky & MxMo:Bourbon”

  1. What a fantastic write-up. I’ve been debating going to a buddy’s birthday party in Louisville this summer…you may have just talked me in to it…although I’m not sure how I’d squeeze his birthday into the trip now.

  2. Now that’s one hell of a great post. You make it feel as if I was on the trip with you. Great detail.
    Thanks
    Bruce

  3. […] like the people of Kentucky. Jamie, over at SpiritsandCocktails.com has also been posting about his recent tours, and his descriptions, especially those of Woodford are very similar to mine. There’s just […]

  4. wow – what a post!

  5. […] Jamie Boudreau Visits Bourbon Country […]

  6. […] that Jamie Boudreau!  He took the bourbon theme to heart SO HARD that he actually WENT to Bourbon county, Kentucky, and […]

  7. […] by yours truly in this month’s Imbibe. While I had originally posted the details of my trip here, I had to take it down after the good people at Imbibe picked up the story. So, if you don’t […]

Leave a comment