Mai Tai 3000

My last entry until I get back from Tales of the Cocktail will be a final treat from the land of molecular mixology (MM). As I am moderating this introductory seminar, and want to get bums in the seats, I feel that it would only be fitting that I continue the theme of late. This one was created for a Slovakian bar magazine as well: as of late it appears that media demand the most esoteric of these techniques.

Although I usually avoid solid “drinks”, this one was actually pretty tasty, and would be a great warm-up “drink” to get ones palate awake.

MAI TAI 3000

1 lime chip
1 rum square
1 dollop orgeat foam
1 pinch fine orange zest
build in order given
To “drink”: place all in mouth at once and chew

Lime Chip

freeze one lime
slice thinly in a meat slicer
soak in simple syrup
place on tray and place in oven at 100˚ F until sugar has slightly caramelized
let cool

Rum Square

3 oz water
1 tsp agar
3 oz Appleton V/X rum
1 oz Lemonhart 151 rum
place water and agar in a pot for 15 minutes
heat until all agar is dissolved
add rums and stir well
pour carefully into a shallow tray and refrigerate
cut into squares when solid

Orgeat Foam

4 oz orgeat
2 oz water
2 dashes Angostura bitters
3 egg whites
place all ingredients into an ISI charger and charge

Orange Zest

Freshly grate orange peel with a fine spice grater.

This is an obvious deconstruction of that 1944 Trader Vic classic, the Mai Tai. Trader Vic’s original recipe called for rum, lime, orange curaçao, rock candy and orgeat. When building the recipe for the Mai Tai 3000, I had to keep in mind all of these flavors in order for the “drink” to be recognizable. The rock candy was replaced with the simple syrup that soaked the lime chips, and the curaçao was replaced by a touch of orange zest on top of the foam. It is important not to go overboard with zest as it is extremely flavorful and will easily overtake the all other flavors. I chose zest over Cointreau dust as I wanted this “cocktail” to have a brightness to it that will get the consumers taste buds tingling.

So there you have it, my last MM post for some time (surely you know that I prefer obscure classics and their twists by now!), and my last post for at least a week, as I will be in the Big Easy, vainly attempting to remain coherent and sober (where’s the WTCU when you need them?!?!)

Drink and picture by:
Jamie Boudreau
Cocktail Whisperer

.

~ by Jamie Boudreau on July 13, 2008.

20 Responses to “Mai Tai 3000”

  1. yay, more obscure classics. 🙂

    See you in NOLA!

  2. this is freaking genius. 🙂

  3. This is really something..and impeccably presented 😉

  4. This will have to be the Amuse bouche at the next Tiki Tuesday.

    You should come down for it.

  5. I found agar-agar I’ll try to do it!
    Thank you!

  6. […] own well-loved left-handed stepchild Jamie Boudreau has run around the country and the world Boudreauing cocktails, and from Portland, we’ve had Portlanders Daniel Shoemaker and David Shenaut and […]

  7. Hey Jamie, I spotted an article on Google looking for this recipe (my dad accidentally froze an orange). http://www.bar-blog.com/molecular-mixology-a-step-too-far/ Dude rips into molecular mixology and your Mai Tai 3000, I reckon painting a pretty inaccurate picture of your bartending ethos/the thought behind molecular mixology. Just a heads up.

  8. regarding the lime chip:

    How long did you soak in simple syrup? And how long did the chip take to get crispy in your oven? Have you tested the shelf life of these? Sorry for so many questions, but my meat slicer access is limited, and I want to get it right the first time.

  9. Ian:
    1) the lime is soaked long enough to be saturated.
    2) take the limes out as soon as they start to change color. Every oven will act differently as will the thickness of your limes affect the cooking time.
    3) I have not tested the shelf life of these.
    4) Don’t worry about the access to a meat slicer, as it just enables you to cut the lime REALLY thin, and allows you to do many in no time at all (which is good for a commercial setting). The lime used in this picture was cut by hand, and it worked fine.

  10. Hello Jamie,
    I’m doing my dissertation on MM and the public’s perception of the concept. Through my research I have come across some of your work, I wss wondering if you could point me in the right direction in terms of finding adequate information for my literature review, at the moment most information I find is online, trade magazines or blogs. Also would it be possible to ask you a few more in depth questions which would really help with my work?

    Regards,

    Gonzalez

  11. Gonzalez:
    try using khymos.org as a source…

  12. How many servings would the recipe above make? I’d like to make a whole batch for a party and I’d guess that 4oz of rum isn’t going to do it. Happen to have a “sized-up” version of the recipe handy?
    I’m off to buy an isi charger and some agar powder…

  13. J: I can’t recall how many this made as it was two years ago, but I’m sure that it wasn’t many. It’s very ambitious of you to take on such a labour intensive project for your guests: I’m sure that it’ll be a conversation piece!

  14. […] out Jamie’s post HERE and read about this cocktail in his own words. This entry was posted in Uncategorized. […]

  15. […] complex drinking experience. A good example is the Vessel 75 (and, a little more esoterically, the Mai Tai 3000), and more and more cocktail books are including recipes for foams. The East India cocktail with […]

  16. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we have developed some nice methods and we are looking to trade strategies with other folks, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  17. […] that vein – if I had extra time, my cocktail for the night would be a Mai Tai 3000.  Check it out… very cool […]

  18. J: can I use knox in place of the agar agar ?

    Tony

  19. tony:
    if by knox you mean gelatin, no. There’s too much alcohol.

  20. Hi there, You’ve performed a great job. I will definitely digg it and for my part recommend to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

Leave a comment