Well, it’s (almost) official!

For those of you that haven’t heard, I am now at a bar called Tini Bigs. Over the last month or so, I’ve been working at revamping the cocktail program, and as of today the new list is out. We’ve ordered new glassware, new ingredients, new ice (for our whiskies and the Chocolat Cochon) and am now just waiting on a few minor things to make the transformation complete. What else is to come? New web site, new menu covers, a Captain’s List, new plate ware, cutlery and some minor cosmetic changes (with major effect) over the next few months. For those of you that enjoyed the old Tini Bigs “martinis”, we’ll still be able to do most of them, and we have preserved a selection of those for the list as well.

If you haven’t been to Tini Bigs in a while (and from those that I’ve asked, that’s a lot of you) please come on by and check us out. I’ll be there on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, (with the exception of my trip to Prague and New York in the beginning of November) and am excited to make you a proper cocktail while behind a bar that was built in 1909.

Tini Bigs drink list teaser…

CHOCOLAT  COCHON
circa 2008, inspired by PDT, NY
bacon-infused bourbon, cherry, chocolate, amaro, bitters

MEXICAN  CLOUD
circa 2008, original.
tequila, pomegranate, rhubarb, elderflower, and Chartreuse

BREAKFAST  COLLINS
circa 2008, original
rum, boysenberry preserves, lemon, bitters, and soda

CHAMOMILE  SOUR
circa 2008, inspired by Pegu Club, NY
chamomile-infused scotch, lemon, and whites

LA  BICYCLETTE
circa 2006, Jamie Boudreau
gin, sweet vermouth, elderflower, and peach bitters

RED  HOOK
circa 2003, Enzo Errico, Milk & Honey, NY
rye, Punt e Mes, and maraschino

TWENTIETH CENTURY
circa 1939, Chicago
gin, Lillet, cacao, and lemon

WIDOW’S KISS
circa 1895, George Kappeler, Holland House Hotel, New York (adapted)
calvados, Benedictine, Chartreuse, lemon and bitters

PRESBYTERIAN
circa 1890, USA
scotch, house-made ginger beer, soda, and bitters

BRANDY CRUSTA
circa 1840, Joeseph Santini, New Orleans City Exchange
cognac, maraschino, Cointreau, lemon, and Peychaud’s

RUM  SHRUBB
circa 1807, United Kingdom
rum, blackberry, raspberry, sugar, red wine vinegar

WINE  COBBLER
circa 1800’s, pervasive
Pineau des Charentes, peach and grapefruit bitters, and orange

Hope to see you soon!

Rum Shrubb

Rum Shrubb

Picture by:
Jamie Boudreau
Cocktail Whisperer

~ by Jamie Boudreau on October 14, 2008.

24 Responses to “Well, it’s (almost) official!”

  1. I’m excited to check Tini Bigs out, now that you’re at the helm, or at least manning the tiller. I haven’t been there since the mid-late 90s, and wasn’t impressed (I guess those two statements are complimentary).

  2. When a little bird first told me, I was convinced he was pulling my leg (again). It’s not quite as unbelievable as the time I was led to believe you were opening a vodka bar, but pretty close.

    I can’t believe I am actually excited about going to the frat house… er, I mean, Tini Bigs. (Can you do something about that terrible name?) Now we just have to figure out how to get to Seattle on a weeknight. Hm..

  3. Lucky me, my office is only about 4 blocks from Tini Bigs. And a bus stop is right out front!

    Having already seen you behind the stick once at TB’s, I can say that the place has improved already and I look forward to experiencing the rest of the changes!

  4. Wow, I Did Not See That Coming – but this is an awesome way to expose a much winder range of people to proper cocktails (and I’m sure it means more exposure for you, too. 🙂

    The menu looks great! But when you get bored of fixing the menu, can you please go next door to Hula Hula and get them to bring back their proper Tiki Drinks? Most of them seem to have disappeared off the menu…

  5. I’ve never been to Tini Bigs before, but have lived in or around seattle for my whole life. Looking at this blog though…I MUST go now.

    The Chocolate Cochon sound a-mazing!

  6. Hey Jamie, the drink list looks awesome! Where do you find such awesome glassware? I’ve yet to find anything like it online, or anywhere for that matter.

  7. All the best Jamie!

    And may be in future you will still have the opportunity to open a vodka bar ;))

  8. This menu looks amazing. Sign me up for a Chamomile Sour…

  9. for years i’ve avoided tini bigs like the plague, but can be tempted to return to give it another shot.

    tell me – the tom collins – if i order one, will it be made correctly?

  10. It is awesome Jamie, just imagining the Chocolat cochon(with infused Bacon..??)how did you infuse the bacon?
    Anyway all the best Jamie, Cheers!

  11. A little bird told me a few weeks ago, though I chose to wait til you were ready to show my face. Curious about the bacon & chamomile infusions, these your own infusions or purchased that way? The wife & will definitely pop by soon. Going to have to try your Red Hook, as the day we met you hooked me on Rye.

  12. Charlie and Jeffrey — Jamie infuses his own bacon; scroll down to the entry on the Bohemian cocktail to learn how. I’ve done it a few times but haven’t settled on the right bourbon (Basil Hayden — too sweet; Old Overholt rye — not sweet enough, but great with a little honey; Bulleit… I let it infuse too long, so maybe that was it, but it ended up a bit bland), but the technique definitely works and produces a very interesting spirit. I’d add that pre-filtering through cheesecloth is a good idea (otherwise the coffee filter can clog), and that doing the coffee filter step in the freezer is also good because it keeps the fat from becoming liquid during what can be a longish process.

  13. p.s. I would also love to know where you get the glassware, Jamie. I’ve looked high and low, and the stuff you show in the photographs is without exception more exquisite than anything I can find. (I suppose the fact that they already have cocktails in them doesn’t hurt, but still.)

  14. bear:
    I find the glassware by stopping into eve ry antique store that I find.
    all:
    Fatwashing, the technique used for infusing high fat flavors with alcohol can be found here.

  15. Thanks, Jamie.

    I had hoped, for your sake and mine, that it was a bit less labor-intensive than that!!

  16. The menu sounds GREAT! I’m am sooo there.

  17. […] — even though others blabbed about it publicly — until pretty recently. Now, with the new bar menu posted on Jamie’s site and with front page attention in the Seattle Times, the cat is well out of […]

  18. I’m bringing the minister when in town in three weeks – can’t wait!

  19. […] a new bar by the fun name of Tini Bigs. He announces this in a post over at Sprits and Cocktails, along with a tragically Pegu-free list of cocktails he’s adding to the menu there. That bumped Vessel off the BlogBarCrawl. Is there anyone still […]

  20. Great Job with the new Tini Big’s Menu!!! I look foward to coming by the next time I am in Seattle

  21. Craig’s list say you’re hiring. I have to admit I’m sad I don’t have the on the job experience you no doubt require. It sounds like so much fun!

  22. Nice work Jamie. I love tini bigs it is my favorite bar in seattle.

  23. What happened to all these wonderful drinks? Just went to Tini Bigs last night and the menu has changed again. 😦 Will we ever see the Chocolat Chochon again? If not, would you part with the recipe?

  24. Chris:
    Unfortunately, with the constantly rotating bar staff and my not being allowed to train, the menu has had to be dumbed down somewhat to accommodate everyone. My role at Tini Bigs is essentially as a part time bartender that has some say in the menu. I am not (and have never been)the bar manager, as many people have believed. Next time you go, perhaps try the Tea Time, which is a wonderful drink. As the weather cools down and the seasons change, more brown spirit cocktails will be added to the menu.

Leave a comment