Ghosts….

They haunt me, those cocktailian tomes from the past of which I only get fleeting eBay glimpses. I try to capture them, but I’m either not quick enough, or my wallet just isn’t thick enough. Either way they disappear into the night, rarely, if ever, being seen again.

Until now that is.

Our good eBay friend Greg, of Mud Puddle Books, has looked kindly on those of us without trust funds and has started to release those legendary opuses of bygone barkeeps. The first set of five will be available on July the 10th (my birthday, but don’t fret, I already have my set coming) with at least eight more on the way (including that one book that every single bartender must possess, Embury’s The Fine Art of Mixing Drinks).

Here’s what you can pre-order right now:

1. Barflies and Cocktail by Harry McElhone (a reproduction of the 1927 edition) with a new introduction by David Wondrich.

2. Bartender’s Manual by Harry Johnson (a reproduction of the 1900 edition) with a new introduction by Robert Hess.

3. American and Other Iced Drinks by Charlie Paul (a reproduction of the 1895 edition) with a new introduction by Dale DeGroff.

4. How to Mix Drinks; A Bon Vivant’s Companion by Jerry Thomas (a reproduction of the 1862 edition) with a new introduction and appendix by David Wondrich.

5. The Fine Art of Mixing Drinks by David A. Embury with new introductions by Audrey Saunders and Robert Hess.

6. The Mixicologist by C.F. Lawlor (a reproduction of the 1895 edition) with a new introduction by Ted “Dr. Cocktail” Haigh.

7. Modern Bartender’s Guide by O.H. Byron (a reproduction of the 1884 edition) with an introduction by Brian Rea.

And, last but not least, a new publication by our good Seattle neighbor, Robert Hess.

1. The Essential Bartender’s guide by Robert Hess with cocktails from some of your favorite bartenders included (even me!)

I’ve actually held some of these in my hand, and they are fine reproductions.

Christmas has come early for me this year (I feel giddy like a little schoolgirl)!!!

Thanks Greg!

~ by Jamie Boudreau on July 1, 2008.

One Response to “Ghosts….”

  1. I’m reading Wondrich’s Imbibe right now, so my interested is peeked. I love the reproduced covers!

Leave a comment